ODI Cricket World Cup Winners List from 1975 to 2023

ODI Cricket World Cup Winners List from 1975 to 2023

List of Cricket World Cup champions is compiled here. ICC England initially hosted the Cricket World Cup in 1975. Each team was given 60 overs to bat in the one-day series. It was originally performed outside the United Kingdom in 1987 in India and Pakistan. In 1987 it was reduced to 50 overs.

ODI Cricket World Cup Winners List: Overview

In 2007, Australia became the first team to win three consecutive World Cup tournaments. So far 12 World Cup tournaments are being organized. Australia is the most successful country to have won 5 World Cups. India and West Indies are the only two countries that have won the World Cup twice. India won the World Cup in 1983 and 2011, while West Indies won in 1975 and 1979. The last World Cup was held in 2019 which was won by England.

ODI Cricket World Cup Winners List

Here is the list of Men’s ODI Cricket World Cup winners from 1975 to 2022 with winners, runner-ups, host country, total scores and final result for One Day International (ODI).

1975EnglandWest IndiesClive Lloyd291–8Australia274West Indies won by 17 runs
1979EnglandWest IndiesClive Lloyd286–9England194West Indies won by 92 runs
1983EnglandIndiaKapil Dev183West Indies140India won by 43 runs
1987India & PakistanAustraliaAllan Border253–5England246–8Australia won by 7 runs
1992Australia & New ZealandPakistanImran Khan249–6England227Pakistan won by 22 runs
1996Pakistan & IndiaSri LankaArjuna Ranatunga245–3Australia221Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets
1999EnglandAustraliaSteve Waugh133–2Pakistan132Australia won by 8 wickets
2003South AfricaAustraliaRicky Ponting359–2India234Australia won by 125 runs
2007West IndiesAustraliaRicky Ponting281–4Sri Lanka215–8Australia won by 53 runs
2011India & BangladeshIndiaMS Dhoni277–4Sri Lanka274–6India won by 6 wickets
2015Australia & New ZealandAustraliaMichael Clarke186–3New Zealand183Australia won by 7 wickets
2019England & WalesEnglandEoin Morgan241New Zealand241–8Match tied after regular play and super over; England won on boundary count
2023IndiaAustraliaPat Cummins241-4India240Australia Won By 6 Wickets
ODI Cricket World Cup Wianners List

Cricket World Cup Winners List: Results by Country

Australia is the most successful team in the ICC ODI World Cup having won the World Cup 6 times and finished runner-up 2 times. After Australia, India and West Indies won the World Cup title twice. The previous ICC ODI Men’s World Cup 2023 was held in India and this World Cup was won by the australia for the sixth time. Here is the country-wise list of ODI Cricket World Cup winners.

WinnersRunnersYears WonYears Runners
Australia8621987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015,20231975, 1996
England41320191979, 1987, 1992
India4221983, 20112003,2023
New Zealand2022015, 2019
Sri Lanka31219962007, 2011
West Indies3211975, 19791983
Cricket World Cup Winners List: Results by Country

Cricket World Cup Winners List- FAQs

Which country has won the most ICC Cricket World Cups?

Australia is the most successful country which won 6 World Cups in the year 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015, 2023.

How many countries have made it to the Cricket World Cup Winners List since 1975?

Six countries have been included in the world cup winners list since 1975. These are West Indies, India, Australia, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and England.

How many types of World Cups are there in world cricket?

There is a total of three formats of Cricket. These include Test Cricket, One Day International Cricket (ODI), and Twenty20 International Cricket. All three types are played at the international level.

How many ICC ODI Cricket World Cups have been organized till now?

There has been 13 ICC Cricket World Cups in ODI format till 2023.

2 Replies to “ODI Cricket World Cup Winners List from 1975 to 2023

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *