Players With Most Ducks In The ICC ODI World Cup

Players With Most Ducks In The ICC ODI World Cup

Imagine preparing for months and going through grueling training with world-class equipment and trainers just to get back into the stands after the first ball of your innings. This is the feeling a player gets after getting out for zero in cricket.

A duck occurs when a batsman is dismissed for a score of zero. When he gets out on his very first ball, it is called a “Golden Duck”. Getting out for a duck is arguably the most embarrassing thing that can happen to a player in cricket, especially to top-order batsmen. No one expects bowlers to play big innings and score runs, but it is insulting to see an opener get out on the very first ball.

Cricket is an unpredictable game and even the best players and teams have faced crushing defeats. Even in the World Cup, where most of the batsmen play responsibly due to pressure and ODI format, there have been many dismissals. Pressure can get anyone down, even players like AB de Villiers, Eoin Morgan and Darren Bravo.

You can check the list of the players with the most ducks in the ICC World Cup below.

Nathan Astle (New Zealand)

Nathan Astle Most Ducks In The ICC ODI World Cup History

Topping this unfortunate list is New Zealand’s Nathan Astle. Despite being a prolific run-scorer for the Kiwis between 1996 and 2003, Astle had his fair share of off days. He played 22 innings in the ICC ODI World Cup and scored 403 runs, but was also dismissed five times. Astle’s aggressive approach often led to early dismissals, but it also made him an important cog in New Zealand’s batting lineup.

Ijaz Ahmed (Pakistan)

Ijaz Ahmed Most Ducks In The ICC ODI World Cup History

Prior to Inzamam-ul-Haq’s debut in Pakistan cricket, Ijaz Ahmed held the number 3 spot for a long time and is second in the bizarre list of most dismissals in ODI World Cup history. Despite a good average of over 32 in One Day Internationals, Ijaz had a disappointing World Cup, scoring only 516 runs at an impressive average of 23.45, including 5 zeros.

Kyle McCallan (Ireland)

Kyle McCallan Most Ducks In The ICC ODI World Cup History

Kyle McClain of Ireland is at the third place in this list. McClellan’s ICC ODI World Cup career was brief, consisting of 8 innings during the 2007 tournament. He scored only 33 runs and was dismissed for zero four times. Although Ireland were relatively new to the tournament, the frequency of McClellan’s ducks was remarkably high. However, his primary role as a bowler partly explains his struggles with the bat.

Darren Bravo (West Indies)

Darren Bravo Most Ducks In The ICC ODI World Cup History

Darren Bravo of West Indies is in third place. From 2011 to 2019, Bravo played 11 ICC ODI World Cup innings, scoring 207 runs. Despite his natural talent, he was dismissed without opening the account on four occasions. Bravo’s inconsistency often put the West Indies in a tight spot, but his ability to score big kept him in the lineup.

Keith Arthurton (West Indies)

Keith Arthurton Most Ducks In The ICC ODI World Cup History

Former Caribbean left-handed batsman Keith Arthurton is at the 5th position in terms of most dismissals in ODI World Cups. Appearing in three installments of the World Cup, the Charlestown batsman scored 4 ducks in 14 matches. His performance in the event was poor as he averaged 20.08.

Most Ducks in Cricket World Cups History

*Last Updated on 20th November 2023

NJ Astle (NZ)1996-2003225
Ijaz Ahmed (PAK)1987-1999265
WK McCallan (IRE)2007-200784
DM Bravo (WI)2011-2019114
KLT Arthurton (WI)1992-1999134
MA Starc (AUS)2015-2023194
AD Mathews (SL)2011-2023214
AB de Villiers (SA)2007-2015224
K Srikkanth (IND)1983-1992234
EJG Morgan (ENG/IRE)2007-2019274
Inzamam-ul-Haq (PAK)1992-2007334
SO Ngoche (KENYA)2011-201133
G Snyman (NAM)2003-200343
Krishna Chandran (UAE)2015-201553
Shafiul Islam (BAN)2011-201153
NA de Groot (CAN)2003-200363
CM Old (ENG)1975-197973
Imran Tahir (SA)2011-201983
AC Botha (IRE)2007-201193
JM Anderson (ENG)2003-2015103
Abdur Razzak (BAN)2007-2011113
Hamid Hassan (AFG)2015-2019113
Z Khan (IND)2003-2011113
MA Wood (ENG)2019-2023113
AD Russell (WI)2011-2019123
TBM de Leede (NED)1996-2007133
MR Marsh (AUS)2015-2023133
Mohammad Rafique (BAN)1999-2007133
MA Suji (KENYA)1996-2003133
JM Davison (CAN)2003-2011143
A Flintoff (ENG)1999-2007143
ADR Campbell (ZIM)1992-2003183
J Srinath (IND)1992-2003183
Younis Khan (PAK)2003-2015183
DL Houghton (ZIM)1983-1992193
KO Otieno (KENYA)1996-2003193
JM Bairstow (ENG)2019-2023203
WTS Porterfield (IRE)2007-2015213
TM Odoyo (KENYA)1996-2011233
A Ranatunga (SL)1983-1999293
Tamim Iqbal (BAN)2007-2019293
Wasim Akram (PAK)1987-2003303
DPMD Jayawardene (SL)1999-2015343
RG Callender (CAN)1979-197922
AG Huckle (ZIM)1999-199922
R Walters (NAM)2003-200322
BA Westdijk (NED)2011-201122
JJ Esmeijer (NED)2003-200332
N Pradeep (SL)2019-201932
Harilal Shah (EAf)1975-197532
KAD Hurdle (BER)2007-200732
BMW Patterson (SCOT)1999-199932
IH Romaine (BER)2007-200732
DW Fleming (AUS)1996-199942
BL Kotze (NAM)2003-200342
SI Mahmood (ENG)2007-200742
T Mupariwa (ZIM)2007-201542
GC Small (ENG)1987-199242
I Wardlaw (SCOT)2015-201542
RGD Willis (ENG)1979-198342
Adeel Raja (NED)2003-201152
JM Brearley (ENG)1979-197952
NE Clarke (NED)1996-199652
A Codrington (CAN)2003-200352
Naveen-ul-Haq (AFG)2023-202352
M Ntini (SA)2003-200752
NN Odhiambo (KENYA)2007-201152
E Otieno (KENYA)2011-201152
BKV Prasad (IND)1996-199952
PM Seelaar (NED)2011-201152
RJ van Vuuren (NAM)2003-200352
Afsar Zazai (AFG)2015-201562
SCJ Broad (ENG)2007-201562
LJ Burger (NAM)2003-200362
KJ Coetzer (SCOT)2015-201562
CC Lewis (ENG)1992-199262
CS MacLeod (SCOT)2015-201562
I Maraj (CAN)2003-200362
PL Mommsen (SCOT)2015-201562
GB Murgatroyd (NAM)2003-200362
H Osinde (CAN)2007-201162
DBL Powell (WI)2007-200762
Shoaib Malik (PAK)2007-201962
M Theekshana (SL)2023-202362
L Vincent (NZ)2003-200762
Akram Khan (BAN)1999-200372
RMH Binny (IND)1983-198772
JAR Blain (SCOT)1999-200772
ALF de Mel (SL)1983-198772
Rashid Latif (PAK)1996-200372
MG Johnson (AUS)2011-201582
T Mishra (KENYA)2007-201182
RE van der Merwe (NED)2023-202382
PA van Meekeren (NED)2023-202382
JP Bray (IRE)2007-200792
RW Chakabva (ZIM)2011-201592
Dawlat Zadran (AFG)2015-201992
SA Edwards (NED)2023-202392
GB Hogg (AUS)2003-200792
Najmul Hossain Shanto (BAN)2023-202392

Most Ducks In ODI Cricket World Cup Year Wise

2019Nuwan PradeepSri Lanka33211*0.5
2015Krishna ChandranUAE55338347.6
2011Shem NgocheKenya333000
2007AB de VilliersSouth Africa1010437214637.2
2003Nathan AstleNew Zealand77321310242.6
1999Akram KhanBangladesh552624212.4
1996Keith ArthurtonWest Indies553210.4
1992Kris SrikkanthIndia8831174016.71
1987Winston BenjaminWest Indies5421585
1983Arjuna RanatungaSri Lanka663803413.33
1979Mike BrearleyEngland5521616432.2
1975Harilal ShahEast Africa332662

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *