Tour de France Winners List (Every winner of the Tour de France from 1903 onwards)

Tour De France Winners List

The Tour de France is the flagship, Grand Slam or Holy Grail of cycling, one of the 7 biggest sporting events in the world.

It is an annual multi-stage bicycle race held primarily in France, while occasionally passing through surrounding countries. Like the other Grand Tours – the Giro d’Italia and the Vuelta a España, it consists of 21 stages spread over a little over 3 weeks. Held every July, the tournament usually features 20 to 22 teams, each with eight riders

All stages are timed to the end; The riders’ times are added to their previous stage times. The rider with the lowest cumulative finish time is the race leader and wears the yellow jersey.

Winning a stage or even wearing the yellow jersey for a day will get you a nice check and can build your career. The winner of the Tour de France 2018 will earn a place in the history books and more than €500,000 in bonuses. The total is expected to exceed €2,000,000.

Every winner of the Tour de France from 1903 onwards

1903Maurice Garin2428FranceLa Française
1904Henri Cornet2388FranceConte
1905Louis Trousselier2975FrancePeugeot–Wolber
1906René Pottier4637FrancePeugeot
1907Lucien Petit-Breton4488FrancePeugeot
1908Lucien Petit-Breton4487FrancePeugeot
1909François Faber4507LuxembourgAlcyon
1910Octave Lapize4474FranceAlcyon
1911Gustave Garrigou5344FranceAlcyon
1912Odile Defraye5319BelgiumAlcyon
1913Philippe Thys5387BelgiumPeugeot
1914Philippe Thys5405BelgiumPeugeot
1915First World War
1916First World War
1917First World War
1918First World War
1919Firmin Lambot5560BelgiumLa Sportive
1920Philippe Thys5519BelgiumLa Sportive
1921Léon Scieur5484BelgiumLa Sportive
1922Firmin Lambot5375BelgiumPeugeot
1923Henri Pélissier5386FranceAutomoto
1924Ottavio Bottecchia5425ItalyAutomoto
1925Ottavio Bottecchia5430ItalyAutomoto
1926Lucien Buysse5745BelgiumAutomoto
1927Nicolas Frantz5341LuxembourgAlcyon
1928Nicolas Frantz5377LuxembourgAlcyon
1929Maurice De Waele5286BelgiumAlcyon
1930André Leducq4818FranceAlcyon
1931Antonin Magne5095FranceFrance
1932André Leducq4520FranceFrance
1933Georges Speicher4395FranceFrance
1934Antonin Magne4363FranceFrance
1935Romain Maes4338BelgiumBelgium
1936Sylvère Maes4442BelgiumBelgium
1937Roger Lapébie4415FranceFrance
1938Gino Bartali4694ItalyItaly
1939Sylvère Maes4244BelgiumBelgium
1940Second World War
1941Second World War
1942Second World War
1943Second World War
1944Second World War
1945Second World War
1946Second World War
1947Jean Robic4640FranceFrance
1948Gino Bartali4922ItalyItaly
1949Fausto Coppi4808ItalyItaly
1950Ferdinand Kübler4775SwitzerlandSwitzerland
1951Hugo Koblet4697SwitzerlandSwitzerland
1952Fausto Coppi4807ItalyItaly
1953Louison Bobet4479FranceFrance
1954Louison Bobet4469FranceFrance
1955Louison Bobet4855FranceFrance
1956Roger Walkowiak4496FranceFrance
1957Jacques Anquetil4686FranceFrance
1958Charly Gaul4319LuxembourgLuxembourg
1959Federico Bahamontes4355SpainSpain
1960Gastone Nencini4173ItalyItaly
1961Jacques Anquetil4397FranceFrance
1962Jacques Anquetil4274FranceSaint–Raphaël
1963Jacques Anquetil4137FranceSaint–Raphaël
1964Jacques Anquetil4504FranceSaint–Raphaël
1965Felice Gimondi4183ItalySalvarani
1966Lucien Aimar4303FranceFord–Gitane
1967Roger Pingeon4780FrancePeugeot–BP–Michelin
1968Jan Janssen4662NetherlandsSauvage–Lejeune
1969Eddy Merckx4110BelgiumFaema
1970Eddy Merckx4366BelgiumFaema
1971Eddy Merckx3689BelgiumMolteni
1972Eddy Merckx3846BelgiumMolteni
1973Luis Ocaña4140SpainBic
1974Eddy Merckx4098BelgiumMolteni
1975Bernard Thévenet4000FrancePeugeot
1976Lucien Van Impe4050BelgiumGitane–Campagnolo
1977Bernard Thévenet4098FrancePeugeot
1978Bernard Hinault3920FranceRenault–Elf–Gitane
1979Bernard Hinault3719FranceRenault–Elf–Gitane
1980Joop Zoetemelk3948NetherlandsTI–Raleigh
1981Bernard Hinault3765FranceRenault–Elf–Gitane
1982Bernard Hinault3489FranceRenault–Elf–Gitane
1983Laurent Fignon3568FranceRenault–Elf–Gitane
1984Laurent Fignon3880FranceRenault–Elf–Gitane
1985Bernard Hinault4100FranceLa Vie Claire
1986Greg LeMond4091United StatesLa Vie Claire
1987Stephen Roche4100IrelandCarrera Jeans-Vagabond
1988Pedro Delgado3300SpainReynolds
1989Greg LeMond3215United StatesADR Agrigel
1990Greg LeMond3349United StatesZ Vêtements
1991Miguel Indurain3935SpainBanesto
1992Miguel Indurain3983SpainBanesto
1993Miguel Indurain3700SpainBanesto
1994Miguel Indurain3978SpainBanesto
1995Miguel Indurain3635SpainBanesto
1996Bjarne Riis3907DenmarkTeam Telekom
1997Jan Ullrich3944GermanyTeam Telekom
1998Marco Pantani3831ItalyMercatone Uno-Bianchi
1999No winner
2000No winner
2001No winner
2002No winner
2003No winner
2004No winner
2005No winner
2006Óscar Pereiro3657SpainCaisse d’Epargne-Illes Balears
2007Alberto Contador3550SpainDiscovery Channel
2008Carlos Sastre3554SpainTeam CSC
2009Alberto Contador3460SpainAstana
2010Andy Schleck3642LuxembourgTeam Saxo Bank
2011Cadel Evans3430AustraliaBMC Racing Team
2012Bradley Wiggins3497Great BritainTeam Sky
2013Chris Froome3404Great BritainTeam Sky
2014Vincenzo Nibali3664ItalyAstana
2015Chris Froome3360Great BritainTeam Sky
2016Chris Froome3529Great BritainTeam Sky
2017Chris Froome3540Great BritainTeam Sky
2018Geraint Thomas3349Great BritainTeam Sky
2019Egan Bernal3480ColombiaTeam Ineos
2020Tadej Pogačar 3482SloveniaUAE Team Emirates
2021Tadej Pogačar 3414SloveniaUAE Team Emirates
2022Jonas Vingegaard3350DenmarkJumbo-Visma

All Multiple Tour De France Winners

NameNo. of WinsWon Years
Jacques Anquetil51957, 1961, 1962, 1963, 1964
Eddy Merckx51969, 1970, 1971, 1972, 1974
Bernard Hinault51978, 1979, 1981, 1982, 1985
Miguel Induráin51991, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995
Chris Froome42013, 2015, 2016, 2017
Philippe Thys31913, 1914, 1920
Louison Bobet31953, 1954, 1955
Greg LeMond31986, 1989, 1990
Lucien Petit-Breton21907, 1908
Firmin Lambot21919, 1922
Ottavio Bottecchia21924, 1925
Nicolas Frantz21927, 1928
André Leducq21930, 1932
Antonin Magne21931, 1934
Sylvère Maes21936, 1939
Gino Bartali21938, 1948
Fausto Coppi21949, 1952
Bernard Thévenet21975, 1977
Laurent Fignon21983, 1984
Alberto Contador22007, 2009
Tadej Pogačar22020, 2021

Tour de France Winners by Country

CountryNo. Of Tour De France Wins
Great Britain6
United States3

Frequently Asked Questions

Who won most tour de france?

There are four riders that share the crown of most Tour de France titles. Jacques Anquetil, Eddy Merckx, Bernard Hinault and Miguel Indurain all won the Tour de France on five occasions.

Youngest Tour De France Winners

Henri Cornet 19 years old, the youngest winner of the Tour de France.

Oldest Tour De France Winners

Firmin Lambot is the only rider to win the Tour de France aged over 35 years old.

Smallest Ever Tour De France Winning Margin

In 1989, American Greg LeMond won over Laurent Fignon by just eight seconds.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *