Asia Cup winners list 1984 to 2023

Asia Cup winners list 1984 to 2023

Asia Cup is one of the most popular cricket tournament in Asia. The Asia Cup is organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC) at an interval of two years.

One of the most respected international ODI tournaments, the Asia Cup began in the year 1983 with the establishment of the Asian Cricket Council. It was to be played every two years between the ACC member nations. So far 15 editions have been played, the first in 1984 and the last in 2022. Meanwhile, the 1993 season had to be canceled due to strained relations between Pakistan and India. In 2008, it was announced that the championship would be played biennially.

Asia Cup Winners List 1984 to 2023

The following is a list of Asia Cup cricket winners. A total of 15 times the teams have played together for the Asia Cup. India has won the Asia Cup maximum 7 times, Sri Lanka 6 times and Pakistan 2 times. Sri Lanka has played the maximum number of 12 Asia Cup finals while India has played 10 Asia Cup final matches. Bangladesh has not won any Asia Cup till date but has played the final 3 times.

YearWinning TeamRunner-upHost Country
1984IndiaSri LankaUnited Arab Emirates (UAE)
1986Sri LankaPakistanSri Lanka
1988IndiaSri LankaBangladesh
1990IndiaSri LankaIndia
1995IndiaSri LankaUnited Arab Emirates (UAE)
1997Sri LankaIndiaSri Lanka
2000PakistanSri LankaBangladesh
2004Sri LankaIndiaSri Lanka
2008Sri LankaIndiaPakistan
2010IndiaSri LankaSri Lanka
2014Sri LankaPakistanBangladesh
2018IndiaBangladeshUnited Arab Emirates (UAE)
2022Sri LankaPakistanUnited Arab Emirates (UAE)
2023IndiaSri LankaSri Lanka

Most Asia Cup Winners List

CountryWonRunner-upWinning Years
India831984, 1988, 1991, 1995, 2010, 2016, 2018, 2023
Sri Lanka671986, 1997, 2004, 2008, 2014, 2022
Pakistan232000, 2012

No other countries have won Asia cup apart from India, Sri Lanka and Pakistan. Bangladesh have reached Asia cup final 3 times but they lost in all time.

Asia Cup Winning Captain List

1984IndiaSunil Gavaskar
1986Sri LankaDuleep Mendis
1988IndiaDilip Vengsarkar
1990IndiaMohammad Azharuddin
1995IndiaMohammad Azharuddin
1997Sri LankaArjuna Ranatunga
2000PakistanMoin Khan
2004Sri LankaMarvan Atapattu
2008Sri LankaMahela Jayawardene
2010INDMS Dhoni
2014Sri LankaAngelo Mathews
2016IndiaMS Dhoni
2018IndiaRohit Sharma
2022Sri LankaDasun Shanaka
2023IndiaRohit Sharma

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *