Batsmen With Most Fifties In The ODI Cricket World Cup

Batsmen With Most Fifties In The ODI Cricket World Cup

The biggest dream of every cricketer since joining the game is to represent their country in the World Cup. Once a player finds a place in the team’s World Cup squad, his only goal is to contribute as much as possible to the team.

Many quality players have made their mark in the World Cup and led their teams to title victories. With the change in the rules, the game of cricket is slowly going in favor of the batsmen, even before many batsmen have played excellent innings.

Australia is the most successful team in World Cup history with five titles while India and West Indies have two titles each. However, on the way to various victories, several batsmen have made a big mark.

Here batsmen, who have the most number of half-centuries in the history of the World Cup.

Sachin Tendulkar (India)

Sachin Tendulkar Batsmen With Most Fifties In The ODI Cricket World Cup

Sachin Tendulkar is the all-time leading run-scorer in World Cups, and also holds the record for most fifties. Tendulkar scored 15 fifties in 45 World Cup matches and his highest score was 152 not out against Namibia. Tendulkar was adept in all forms of cricket, but his particular dominance was in the World Cup. He was capable of scoring runs against all types of bowling and was always in danger of scoring a big century.

Shakib Al Hasan (Bangladesh)

Shakib Al Hasan Most Fifties career in ICC ODI Worldcup

Shakib Al Hasan has been one of the best all-rounders of modern times and possibly the best in white-ball cricket. He has been the face of Bangladesh for almost two decades and has been performing consistently. He had a stellar 2019 edition where he scored over 600 runs with two centuries and nine fifties. Overall, Shakib has played 29 matches and scored 1146 runs, including two centuries and 10 half-centuries.

Jacques Kallis (South Africa)

Jacques Kallis Batsmen with most Fifties in the cricket World Cup

Jacques Kallis, a former South African star and one of the best all-rounders of all time, also found considerable success at World Cup level. He represented his country in five editions between 1996 and 2001. Kallis played 36 games and scored 1148 runs at an average of 45.92. The former all-rounder scored one century and nine half-centuries.

Herschelle Gibbs (South Africa)

Herschelle Gibbs Batsmen with most Half Centuries in the cricket World Cup

One of the most explosive and dynamic batsmen of all time, Herschelle Gibbs made a significant impact for his team in the World Cup as well. He has scored half-centuries 8 times in the 25 World Cup matches he has played so far.

Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka)

Kumar Sangakkara World Cup Most Fifties

Kumar Sangakkara was one of the most prolific batsmen of his generation, and he was the master of the ODI format. Sangakkara scored 7 fifties in 37 World Cup matches and his highest score was 124 runs. Sangakkara was a very good timer of the ball and was capable of scoring runs in all areas of the ground. He was also an amazing captain and led Sri Lanka to the World Cup final in 2011 where they faced the host nation- India. Although he fell behind in the end, he had a great tournament.

Batsmen With Most Fifties (Half-Centuries) In World Cup History

*Last Updated on 21st November 2023

SR Tendulkar (IND)1992-201145441521
V Kohli (IND)2011-202337371217
RG Sharma (IND)2015-20232828613
Shakib Al Hasan (BAN)2007-202336361113
KC Sangakkara (SL)2003-20153735712
DA Warner (AUS)2015-20232929511
SPD Smith (AUS)2011-202334301011
RT Ponting (AUS)1996-20114642611
AB de Villiers (SA)2007-20152322610
HH Gibbs (SA)1999-20072523810
JH Kallis (SA)1996-20113632910
F du Plessis (SA)2011-2019232179
MD Crowe (NZ)1983-1992212189
GA Gooch (ENG)1979-1992212189
JE Root (ENG)2015-2023262569
Javed Miandad (PAK)1975-1996333089
AC Gilchrist (AUS)1999-2007313189
BC Lara (WI)1992-2007343379
DPMD Jayawardene (SL)1999-2015403459
Mushfiqur Rahim (BAN)2007-2023383789
ST Jayasuriya (SL)1992-2007383769
BA Stokes (ENG)2019-2023171678
Babar Azam (PAK)2019-2023171778
MJ Clarke (AUS)2007-2015252188
Yuvraj Singh (IND)2003-2011232178
R Dravid (IND)1999-2007222168
IVA Richards (WI)1975-1987232158
SB Styris (NZ)2003-2011262268
ME Waugh (AUS)1992-1999222248
TM Dilshan (SL)2007-2015272548
M Azharuddin (IND)1987-1999302588
KS Williamson (NZ)2011-2023272668
Q de Kock (SA)2015-2023272748
SO Tikolo (KENYA)1996-2011282788
S Chanderpaul (WI)1996-2011312878
PA de Silva (SL)1987-2003353268
CH Gayle (WI)2003-2019353468
Misbah-ul-Haq (PAK)2011-2015151377
HE van der Dussen (SA)2019-2023191657
DC Boon (AUS)1987-1992161657
AJ Finch (AUS)2015-2019181847
GA Hick (ENG)1992-1999201967
SC Ganguly (IND)1999-2007212137
HM Amla (SA)2011-2019222257
BB McCullum (NZ)2003-2015342767
A Ranatunga (SL)1983-1999302977
LRPL Taylor (NZ)2007-2019333067
SR Waugh (AUS)1987-1999333067
SP Fleming (NZ)1996-2007333357
NS Sidhu (IND)1987-1996121066
KP Pietersen (ENG)2007-2011131346
CG Greenidge (WI)1975-1983151546
Aamer Sohail (PAK)1992-1996161646
KL Rahul (IND)2019-2023201946
SR Watson (AUS)2007-2015221966
JM Bairstow (ENG)2019-2023202046
GC Smith (SA)2003-2011202066
IR Bell (ENG)2007-2015212166
WU Tharanga (SL)2007-2015212146
Saeed Anwar (PAK)1996-2003212136
G Kirsten (SA)1996-2003212156
Mahmudullah (BAN)2011-2023252236
MJ Guptill (NZ)2011-2019272746
JJ Roy (ENG)2019-20198745
IJL Trott (ENG)2011-20117755
Majid Khan (PAK)1975-19797755
RN ten Doeschate (NED)2007-20119935
R Ravindra (NZ)2023-2023101025
SS Iyer (IND)2023-2023111135
SC Williams (ZIM)2007-2015111155
AC Hudson (SA)1992-1996121245
LPC Silva (SL)2007-2011181455
Zaheer Abbas (PAK)1975-1983141445
BRM Taylor (ZIM)2007-2015151535
MS Atapattu (SL)1999-2003151535
MDKJ Perera (SL)2015-2023161655
DM Jones (AUS)1987-1992161655
Ramiz Raja (PAK)1987-1996161625
Hashmatullah Shahidi (AFG)2019-2023171755
EC Joyce (ENG/IRE)2007-2015171745
MG Bevan (AUS)1996-2003261855
DL Houghton (ZIM)1983-1992201945
SM Gavaskar (IND)1975-1987191945
RB Richardson (WI)1987-1996202045
NJ O’Brien (IRE)2007-2015212155
WTS Porterfield (IRE)2007-2015212145
ML Hayden (AUS)2003-2007222125
RS Mahanama (SL)1987-1999252155
V Sehwag (IND)2003-2011222235
Saleem Malik (PAK)1987-1999272345
Imran Khan (PAK)1975-1992282445
GJ Maxwell (AUS)2015-2023272525
MS Dhoni (IND)2007-2019292555
A Flower (ZIM)1992-2003302945
G Fowler (ENG)1983-19837744
Abdullah Shafique (PAK)2023-20238834
NC Johnson (ZIM)1999-19998834
PN Kirsten (SA)1992-19928844
Shubman Gill (IND)2023-20239944
P Nissanka (SL)2023-20239944

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *