Most Man Of The Match Awards In IPL History
Cricket Sports

Most Man Of The Match Awards In IPL History

The man of the match award in the Indian Premier League or any other cricket tournament is given to the player who changes the game and puts pressure on the opponent. Whether a team wins or loses, a player’s performance is determined by the circumstances in which he is placed. A player who impressed more and left a lasting impression with his outstanding performance in the match was awarded as the man of the match.

From the begining of IPL in 2008 till 2023, let’s take a look at the players with the most number of Man of the Match awards in IPL History.

AB de Villiers (25 in 184 Matches)

AB de Villiers Most Man Of The Match Awards Wins in IPL

Like MS Dhoni, South African batsman AB de Villiers has also established himself as one of the top finishers in T20 cricket. The stylish batsman has won 25 awards in league history, the most by any player. He has scored 5162 runs in 170 innings with an incredible strike rate of 151.68. The star batsman has decided to retire from all forms of cricket in November 2021 and his fans will not be able to see his attack from the upcoming 2023 edition.

Chris Gayle (22 in 142 Matches)

Chris Gayle Most Man of the match award won in ipl history

West Indies left-handed all-rounder Chris Gayle is second in terms of being the most man of the match in IPL. He was awarded man of the match on 22 occasions in IPL while playing for Kolkata Knight Riders, Punjab Kings and Royal Challengers Bangalore. He scored 4965 runs in his 141 innings at an average of 39.72. He was one of the most influential and dangerous batsmen of IPL. He started his IPL career with Kolkata Knight Riders and played his first IPL match in 2008 against Delhi Capitals. This Caribbean batsman has scored 6 centuries and 31 half-centuries in IPL.

Rohit Sharma (19 in 243 Matches)

Rohit Sharma Won Most Man Of The Match Awards On IPL History

Rohit Sharma is the first Indian player to win 18 Player of the Match awards. He is arguably the most successful captain in IPL history, with Mumbai Indians having won five titles under his leadership. An impressive innings played by Rohit can hamper the chances of the opposition team to a great extent. The prolific batsman has scored 6211 runs in the cash-rich league at an average of 20.75 and a strike rate of 132.80.

David Warner (18 in 176 Matches)

David Warner Wins ost Man Of the Match Awards In IPL

With 18 Man of the Match appearances in IPL, South African left-handed batsman David Warner is fourth in the list of most Man of the Match appearances in IPL. He has played for Delhi Capitals and Sunrisers Hyderabad and scored 6397 runs in 176 innings at an average of 41.54 with 4 centuries and 61 fifties. He was one of the most important and prominent players of Sunrisers Hyderabad. In 2016, under the leadership of Warner, Hyderabad reached the final and defeated RCB to win the IPL title for the first time.

MS Dhoni (17 in 250 Matches)

Ms Dhoni Wins Most Man Of The Match Awards In IPL History

MS Dhoni received man of the match award 17 times while playing for Chennai Super Kings in IPL. Dhoni led Chennai from the begining of IPL till the creation of Chennai Super Kings in 2015. In 2016, Dhoni was chosen as the captain of the Rising Pune Super Giants after CSK were ousted from the league. Dhoni was again allowed to captain CSK.

Shane Watson (16 in 145 Matches)

Shane Watson Win Man Of the Match Award In IPL

Shane Watson – One of the finest all-rounder in T20 and 50 over format has got this player of the match award 16 times in IPL. He has played for Rajasthan Royals, Royal Challengers Bangalore and Chennai Super Kings. Watson is currently playing for the Chennai IPL team. Shane Watson has also received the Player of the Series award 2 times in IPL 2008 and IPL 2013 when he was playing for Rajasthan Royals. He has also scored 17 fifties and 4 centuries in his IPL career. His highest IPL score is 117 runs in IPL 2018 against Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Yusuf Pathan (16 in 174 Matches)

The right-handed batsman and all-rounder Yusuf Pathan has received the Man of the Match award 16 times for his contribution of 3222 runs with the bat and 42 wickets with the ball. Pathan has also scored a century and 14 half-centuries in the IPL tournament. Yusuf Pathan has played for Rajasthan Royals, Kolkata Knight Riders and Sunrisers Hyderabad. He was playing for Rajasthan Royals from IPL 2008 to IPL 2010, Kolkata Knight Riders from IPL 2011 to IPL 2016. Pathan’s highest IPL score is 100 against Mumbai Indians in IPL 2010.

Suresh Raina (14 in 205 Matches)

Suresh Raina is a visual feast for the fans in this shortest version of the game. He is a capable ball striker who has an unusual ability to perform well under pressure. Raina, who bats in the top order, specializes in winning matches. The left-handed batsman sometimes doubles up as an off-break bowler, often taking crucial wickets at the right times. Raina is a livewire on the field, possessing quick reflexes to go along with his prowess with bat and ball. He has accumulated 5528 runs and 14 man of the match honours.

Kieron Pollard (14 in 186 Matches)

Pollard is an important part of the team due to his familiarity with the format and his long association with the group. When things get tough, he is expected to lift the morale of the team and get them back on the right track. With a strike rate of 191, Pollard was a vital member of the MI team that won the 2020 season. He has won 14 man of the match awards in 186 matches.

Virat kohli (16 in 237 Matches)

In 237 IPL games, Kohli has scored 7263 runs. He is the only player to represent the same franchise since the inaugural season of the competition. He has so far earned 7263 runs in 237 matches and 16 Man of the Match awards.

IPL Most Man of the Match Titles

1AB de Villiers25
2Chris Gayle22
3Rohit Sharma19
4David Warner18
5MS Dhoni17
6Shane Watson16
7Yusuf Pathan16
8Suresh Raina14
9Kieron Pollard14
10Virat Kohli16
11Gautam Gambhir13
12Michael Hussey12
13Ajinkya Rahane12
14Sunil Narine12
15Amit Mishra12

Frequently Asked Questions

Who has got most man of the match in IPL?

The South African Batsman AB de Villiers has earned a whopping 25 man of the match awards in his IPL career.

Who got the most man of the match in cricket?

Indian former batsman & legend, Sachin Tendulkar has won the most man of the match in cricket.

Who is always king of cricket?

Star Indian batsman, Virat Kohli is known as the king of cricket. With his brilliant batting style, he has broken several cricket records of legendary players.

Who is best IPL cricketer?

Jos Buttler is known as the best IPL cricketer. He captains the England cricket team in limited-overs cricket and plays for the England Test team. 

One Reply to “Most Man Of The Match Awards In IPL History

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *