Top 10 Oldest Players in IPL 2024

Top 10 Oldest Players in IPL 2024

The IPL auction saw a massive payday for Australian pacers. Star pacer Mitchell Starc has become the costliest player in IPL history, surpassing his captain Pat Cummins record set just an hour earlier. KKR made a substantial ₹24.75 crore bid for Starc, while Cummins found a spot with SRH for ₹20.5 crore.

However, with this auction, all ten teams are set for a fiery season of the Indian Premier League in 2024. The team boasts a great combination of young and experienced players in the squad, with CSK skipper MS Dhoni being the most experienced player.

Here’s the list of the top 10 oldest players in the IPL 2024

Ravichandran Ashwin (Rajasthan Royals)

Veteran Indian spinner Ravichandran Ashwin will be seen playing for Rajasthan Royals (RR) in the upcoming season of the IPL. Born on 17th September 1986, Aswhin is currently 37 years old and is on the list of oldest players to feature in IPL 2024. He has been a part of IPL since 2009 where he played 197 matches and took 171 wickets at an average of 28.67 and an economy of 7.01.

Sikandar Raza (Punjab Kings)

The 37-year-old Zimbabwe all-rounder made his IPL debut last year. He was picked by the Punjab Kings after his amazing performance in the T20 World Cup. In seven games, he has scored 139 runs and taken three wickets.

Shikhar Dhawan (Punjab Kings)

Shikhar Dhawan, 38, is the oldest stalwart in the PBKS squad. Noting his experience, the PBKS team management appointed him the team’s skipper before the 2022 season. Captaining PBKS for two years, he couldn’t deliver the desired results to the team.

In the upcoming season, Punjab supporters will expect him to lead the team from the front and guide it to the trophy win. Like MS Dhoni, Rohit Sharma, and Virat Kohli, Dhawan also made his debut in the maiden IPL season in 2008. The southpaw is the second-leading run-getter in the league, notching up 6617 runs with two tons and 50 half-centuries in 217 matches.

Dinesh Karthik (Royal Challengers Bangalore)

Dinesh Karthik is an Indian wicketkeeper batter who will play for Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in IPL 2024. He was born on the 1st of June in 1985 and is currently 38 years old which makes him one of the oldest cricketers to feature in the 17th edition.

Karthik has played 242 matches in his IPL career amassing 4516 runs at an average of 25.81 and an average of 132.71.

Wriddhiman Saha (Gujarat Titans)

Despite being a Test match player, Wriddhiman Saha has received a lot of opportunities in the Indian Premier League. From the Kolkata Knight Riders to the Gujarat Titans, Saha has represented a good number of teams. In his career, he has played 161 IPL games and scored 2798 runs at an average of 24.98, including a century.

Faf du Plessis (Royal Challengers Bangalore)

After the disappointing 2023 season, Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) skipper Faf du Plessis will back himself to lead the team confidently in 2024. The 39-year-old is the oldest servant of the team and as a captain, his responsibility will be to be effective with his leadership and batting.

Faf du Plessis looked spectacular as a batter for Challengers in 2023. With 730 runs in 14 games at a magnificent strike rate of 153.68, he ended up as the second-highest run-scorer in the competition. RCB supporters will keep their expectations high from their skipper for the upcoming IPL edition.

Amit Mishra (Lucknow Super Giants)

Veteran Indian spinner Amit Mishra will be seen playing for Lucknow Super Giants in IPL 2024. He will be one of the oldest cricketers to play in the 17th edition of the tournament. Mishra was born on 24th November 1982 and has recently turned 41 years old. He has played 161 matches in his IPL career taking 173 scalps at an average of 23.84 and an economy rate of 7.37.

MS Dhoni (Chennai Super Kings)

The another name in the list is of the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) skipper MS Dhoni. The former Indian captain retired from international cricket in 2020 but has been playing in the IPL regularly. He is one of the successful IPL captains who led CSK to the title five times.

It was anticipated that IPL 2023 could be Dhoni’s last stint for CSK Yellow, but now the franchise has retained him again and confirmed that he will be playing in the upcoming season which also makes him the oldest cricketer to play in IPL 2024. He was born on 7th July 1981 and is currently 42 years old. He has been a part of IPL since 2008 scoring 5082 runs from 250 matches at an average of 38.79 and a strike rate of 135.92.

Rohit Sharma (Mumbai Indians)

India skipper Rohit Sharma has been phenomenal in Indian Premier League history. He is the joint most successful captain, having won five IPL titles in 10 seasons. Rohit is also the fourth-highest run scorer in the history of the tournament. He is the only player to have a century and a hat-trick in IPL history. Rohit has represented the Mumbai Indians and Deccan Chargers in his 16-year-long career.

David Warner (Delhi Capitals)

In Rishabh Pant’s absence, Delhi Capitals (DC) handed the captaincy mantle to David Warner for the 2023 season. Leading the side, the veteran failed to be impactful as the team ended up in the ninth spot in the tournament with only five wins in 14 contests. As a batter, the Australia player scored 516 runs for Hyderabad in 14 innings but at a dismal strike rate of 131.63.

Warner, 37, is a crucial member of the DC side due to his huge experience. He is also the oldest player in the team. The veteran Aussie made his IPL debut in 2009 for DC but his best performance came in SRH colours in 2016. Notching up 848 runs in 17 games, he concluded the tournament as the second-highest run-scorer and also guided the Orange Army to their maiden and only trophy triumph.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *