Most sixes in IPL by Team: Know who leads the hit list
Cricket Sports

Most sixes in IPL by Team: Know who leads the hit list

Indian Premier League is one of the best leagues in the world. IPL started in 2008 and till now it is played every year and its entertainment level is increasing year by year.

IPL has been a great source of entertainment for the viewers as the spectators get to witness some big sixes and brutal hits. Today in this article we will share the list of most sixes in IPL by teams from 2008 to 2022.

1. Mumbai Indians – 1408 Sixes

Which teams hits more sixes in ipl?

The only team to win 5 IPL trophies in history Mumbai Indians is the only team that has more trophies than any other team. Mumbai Indians are also leading the table of most sixes with 1408 sixes in 231 matches.

2. Royal Challengers Bangalore – 1377 Sixes

RCB is considered to be one of the unluckiest teams in the IPL. Despite being one of the best players in the team, he has never won an IPL title. Although they have been runners-up three times in history. The team holds the record for the highest and lowest scores of 263/5 and 49 runs in an innings respectively.

The team was led by Virat Kohli, who resigned from his captaincy after IPL 2021. Kohli is the highest run scorer for RCB with 6624 runs and most sixes were hit by Chris Gayle – 357. However, who has registered the maximum number of sixes in the IPL History. The team has hit a total of 1377 sixes in 227 innings.

3. Punjab Kings – 1276 Sixes

Punjab Kings have hit 1276 sixes in 218 matches from 2008 to 2022. He has played 218 matches so far and with 8 sixes he is just ahead of Chennai Super Kings. It will be important who performs better in the upcoming season of IPL.

4. Chennai Super Kings – 1268 Sixes

At number four we have Chennai Super Kings with 1268 sixes in 209innings. CSK has been suspended for two years due to the owners being involved in betting. Still, they have hit more sixes than the other four teams combined. He has won the IPL trophy four times. The team is led by former Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni.

Out of 14 seasons, the team has qualified for the playoffs 11 times and the finals 9 times which is more than any other team. Their highest scorer is Suresh Raina who has scored 5528 runs in 200 innings. Captain MS Dhoni (229) hit the most sixes in CSK. Ruturaj Gaikwad of CSK has hit a six of 108 meters which is the highest six in IPL.

5. Kolkata Knight Riders – 1226 Sixes

Three-time champions Kolkata Knight Riders are fifth with 1226 sixes in 223 innings. Kolkata has hit 17 sixes twice which is the highest number of sixes ever. Number of sixes hit by him in a single match. Against Chennai Super Kings in 2018 and Kings XI Punjab in 2019.

List Of Most Sixes In IPL By The Team From 2008 To 2022

RankTeamMatchesNo. of Sixes
1Mumbai Indians2311408
2Royal Challengers Bangalore2271377
3Punjab Kings2181276
4Chennai Super Kings2091268
5Kolkata Knight Riders2231226
6Delhi Capitals2241146
7Rajasthan Royals1921011
8Sunrisers Hyderabad152776
9Deccan Chargers75400
10Pune Warriors46196
11Rising Pune Supergiant30157
12Gujarat Lions30155
13Lucknow Super Giants15115
14Gujarat Titans1679
15Kochi Tuskers Kerala1453

Frequently Asked Questions

Most Sixes In IPL In One Match

West Indies star Chris Gayle has hit the most sixes in an IPL innings. In IPL 2013, Chris Gayle scored 175* in a match against Pune Warriors India. He hit 17 sixes in the match which is the most in IPL history.

Total Sixes In IPL

Since 2008, the Indian Premier League has recorded a total of 8899 sixes in 14 seasons.

Who Will Hit Most Sixes In 2023 IPL?

At this point, it won’t be possible to say who will hit most runs or most sixes in the next season of IPL. However, we are hoping that someone among KL Rahul, Faf Du Plessis, and Ruturaj Gaikwad will it most sixes in the next season as those three were the top three players with most sixes in the previous season.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *