ICC T20 World Cup Winners List from 2007 to 2022

ICC T20 World Cup Winners List from 2007 to 2022

 ICC T20 Cricket World Cup is an international tournament organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC). The first edition was played in South Africa in 2007. England won against Pakistan in the 8th edition of the ICC T20 World Cup.

2007 ICC World T20 Winner: India

India defeated arch-rivals Pakistan by 5 runs in the final played in Johannesburg. In doing so, India became the first side to simultaneously win an ODI and T20I World Cup. The Men in Blue won five matches before the final, including a group stage match against England where Yuvraj Singh hit Stuart Broad for six sixes in an over.

ICC 2009 T20 World Cup Winner: Pakistan

Pakistan and Sri Lanka reached the final of the second T20 World Cup in 2009. On 21 June the two teams clashed at Lord’s to defend the title. The Sri Lankan captain won the toss and elected to bat first. He lost his grip from the start of the match, losing Tillakaratne Dilshan in the very first over. Sri Lanka’s top order was completely destroyed by Pakistan and apart from their captain Kumar Sangakkara, none of the batsmen could do much. He scored an unbeaten 64 which helped them post 138 runs on the scoreboard. The target was not that big for the Pakistani batsmen and they successfully achieved it with Shahid Afridi scoring a brilliant half-century. Thus, Pakistan won the second T20 Cricket World Cup title in 2009.

ICC T20 World Cup 2010 Winner: England

England cricket team won the T20 World Cup 2010 by defeating Australia in the final. England beat Australia by 7 wickets in the final. The England team lost their first game to the West Indies team, but went on to win all their consecutive games to win the title. Kevin Pietersen of England was named Player of the Series in the 2010 T20 World Cup.

ICC 2012 T20 World Cup Winner: West Indies

West Indies won their first title in this format in the 2012 T20 World Cup, defeating Sri Lanka by 36 runs in the final. Even though they lost to Australia in their opening match of ICC T20 World Cup 2012, West Indies emerged victorious. Australia’s Shane Watson and Sri Lanka’s Ajantha Mendis were both named Player of the Series and leading run-scorers in this World Cup.

2014 ICC World T20 Winner: Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka defeated India in the 2014 T20 World Cup to become the new T20 World Cup winners. Sri Lanka won the final match by 6 wickets. India has reached the final of the World Cup for the second time. India’s Virat Kohli was named as the highest run-scorer of the ICC T20 World Cup 2014 series and player of the series.

T20 World Cup 2016 Winner- West Indies

West Indies cricket team won the T20 World Cup 2016 by defeating England in the final. With this, West Indies became the first team to win the T20 World Cup twice. West Indies lost only one match against Afghanistan. Earlier, West Indies became champions for the first time in the 2012 T20 World Cup. In this World Cup, Virat Kohli was the Player of the Series and Tamim Iqbal was the highest run-scorer.

2021 ICC World T20 Winner: Australia

Australia beat their trans-Tasman rivals New Zealand by eight wickets in the final to lift their maiden T20 World Cup title in the UAE. The Aussies sealed the T20 trophy with seven balls to spare in their chase of 173, their longest-ever victory thanks to a 50-ball 77 from all-rounder Mitchell Marsh. Pakistan captain Babar Azam (303) finished as. Highest run-scorer in T20 World Cup 2021 while Sri Lankan spinner Wanindu Hasaranga continues to top the wickets list with 16 wickets in eight matches.

ICC T20 World Cup 2022 Winner: England

In Australia, which will host the ICC T20 World Cup in 2022, England beat Pakistan by five wickets. This time the trophy of the famous T20 World Cup 2022 is in the hands of three lions. Back in 2020, the ICC announced that there would be consecutive T20 World Cups in 2021 and 2022. Australia won the T20 World Cup in 2021, which was held in the United Arab Emirates. Due to the effects of the global pandemic, the ICC announced that the official host of the 2021 T20 World Cup would host the competition in 2022 instead. Lastly, Australia successfully hosted the T20 World Cup in 2022, but were unable to successfully defend their title. The T20 World Cup trophy will also be returned to England.

ICC T20 World Cup Winners, Stats and Records List

YearWinnersRunners UpPlayer of
The Series
Top Run
Wicket Taker
2007IndiaPakistanShahid AfridiMatthew HaydenUmar GulSouth Africa
2009PakistanSri LankaTillakaratne DilshanTillakaratne DilshanUmar GulEngland
2010EnglandAustraliaKevin PietersenMahela JayawardeneDirk NannesWest Indies
2012West IndiesSri LankaShane WatsonShane WatsonAjantha MendisSri Lanka
2014Sri LankaIndiaVirat KohliVirat KohliAhsan Malik & Imran TahirBangladesh
2016West IndiesEnglandVirat KohliTamim IqbalMohammad NabiIndia
2021AustraliaNew ZealandBabar AzamWanindu HasarangaOman & UAE
2022EnglandPakistanSam CurranVirat KohliWanindu HasarangaAustralia

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *