List of World Test Championship Winners

List of World Test Championship Winners

The winners of the World Test Championship for the 2021/23 season will be revealed after the current competition is over. ICC unveiled a new schedule and points structure for the current season. New Zealand won the World Test Championship in the previous competition, which took place between 2019 and 21. He defeated India by a margin of 8 wickets. The world’s top Test cricket teams compete in the ICC World Test Championship for the chance to take home the championship trophy.

The ICC World Test Championship is an international cricket competition organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC) for ten Test cricket playing nations. The tournament maintains a rating system based on all Test matches played throughout the cricket season. According to the rating system of the Test Championship.

  • Winning a Test Championship final earns you the highest points.
  • If a team wins, it earns points. If the team loses, it receives fewer points.
  • In the event of a tie, the lower-rated team will be favoured at the expense of the higher-rated team.

World Test Championship – Participating Teams

Nine of the best cricket playing teams in the world get a chance to play in the World Test Championship. The nine members of the ICC WTC are:

  • Australia [Qualified for Finals]
  • Bangladesh
  • England
  • India [Qualified for Finals]
  • New Zealand
  • Pakistan
  • South Africa
  • Sri Lanka
  • West Indies

ICC Test Championship Winners List With Captain

2001-02AustraliaAC Gilchrist
2002-03AustraliaAC Gilchrist
2003-04AustraliaAC Gilchrist
2004-05AustraliaAC Gilchrist
2005-06AustraliaRT Ponting
2006-07AustraliaRT Ponting
2007-08AustraliaRT Ponting
2008-09AustraliaRT Ponting
2009-10IndiaMahendra Singh Dhoni
2010-11IndiaMahendra Singh Dhoni
2011-12EnglandAlastair Cook
2012-13South AfricaGraeme Smith
2013-14South AfricaGraeme Smith
2014-15South AfricaGraeme Smith
2015-16AustraliaSPD Smith
2016-17IndiaVirat Kohli
2017-18IndiaVirat Kohli
2018-19IndiaVirat Kohli
2019-21New ZealandTim Southee
2021-23AustraliaPat Cummins
ICC Test Championship Winners List With Captain

FAQs on World Test Championship Winners

Who is leading the World Test Championship?

Australia is leading the 2021/23 World Test Championship with 136 points. India is in second place with 123 points and Sri Lanka is currently with 64 points. The highest number of points earned in matches will determine the ICC World Test Championship winner.

Who was the World Test Championship Winner in 2019/21?

The World Test Championship winners in the 2019/21 season were New Zealand. New Zealand played against India in heavy rain. Regardless, New Zealand defeated India by eight wickets to claim the ICC World Test Championship mace for the 2019/21 season.

How many times has India won the World Test Championship?

India is yet to become the winner of the ICC World Test Championship. The last World Test Championship was held in 2019/21, which was won by New Zealand. India has a high chance to win the World Test Championship 2021/23 as it is currently at the second position with a score of 99.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *